• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Introducing Little Orphan Annie and Myself

16vvincent

NAXJA Forum User
Been poking around for a while now and thought that a build thread and a introduction would be appropriate. For me, my name is Vince and I am a auto mechanic for a Dealership in the Sacramento area. Time for a little bit more about me. I am a Technician for a Dealership in Elk Grove. I am a drivability and transmission technician. I have built several cars before, but this is my first attempt at a 4x4.
When I was deciding what type of vehicle to use, it was down to 2. Ford Explorer and Jeep Cherokee. The Explorer was an option as it is a vehicle that I know inside and out (and now you know what brand I work for). However, the Explorer does have that wonderful Twin I-Beam front suspension. Not my favorite, and clearly not the best for real off road. And, I have had an Exploder before and was not happy with it. I have read Eric's book on Building a Cherokee and liked what I read and the possiblities. Then Cherokee pretty much fell into my hands and the price was very right.

Ah yes, my XJ. Or Little Orphan Annie, as I call her. Clearly because she was unloved and left on her own way too many times. I picked her up for $350.00, she ran (poorly) and looked like ass (still does really). Fortunately, as a mechanic, I was able to fix the running issue pretty quickly.

But want is Annie? She is a 1987 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 4x4 with a 4.0, 5 speed trans and really rough paint / body. Her rear brakes were shot, run on 4 cylinders, with an occasional jump to 6, the 4x4 didn’t work, and the steering was stupid loose.
XJ1.jpg

XJInterior1.jpg

XJInterior4.jpg

XJInterior2.jpg

So time to be fixing the important stuff first.