• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Wire feed vs. Arc HF welders

Bdiddy11

NAXJA Forum User
Ok... so with my Harborfreight gift cards i'd like to invest in a welder to start doing some minor fabrication. Mainly a roof rack/interior cargo cage to start. Possibly using EMT conduit.

Now my question is, what would be better to invest in... The HF Flux Wire welder

http://www.harborfreight.com/90-amp-flux-wire-welder-98871.html

or the Arc Welder

http://www.harborfreight.com/120-amp-arc-welder-98870.html

I'm a newbie to welding... got some experience using wire feed. Basically need something for small projects that can be used on house/garage outlets. Down the road i'd like to get into doing sliders/bumpers etc...but for now it'll be smaller projects.

So... school me on what each one can be used for (project wise) and help me make a decision on which to buy :wave1:

Stick with the wire feed since you are new to welding. That particular wire feed states it will do 1/2" material, which is absolutely nuts to believe that, but you could easily do 1/8 to 3/16" with it, assuming prime conditions and technique.

My recommendation would be to not buy a welder from Harbor Freight.

Look at Hobart, which are Miller's economy brand.

x2

And look into possibly taking at least a crash course class in welding somewhere local. I'm glad I never tried to do ANY serious welding before I started my classes.

Scott