• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

welders...

ericfx1984

NAXJA Forum User
My brother in law and I have been sharing a Lincoln Weld-Pak 3200HD welder for around 7 years, basically it is the largest 110v welder out there which will run up to 135 amps... but you can really ell it is not up to larger jobs...

I am tired of having to get a hold of him and drive 1 and a half hours every time I need to use it

as a result I am looking into a Chicago Electric 97503

http://www.harborfreight.com/weldin...0-amp-230-volt-mig-and-flux-welder-97503.html

it is a 230v (single phase) on sale for $199.99, and my garage is prewired for 230v

the duty cycle looks decent

and I like the idea of going to 230v

any reason NOT to go to this unit

You'd be better off driving an hour and a half...

The problem is between the "www." and the ".com" in your link there.

I bought one like that at a flea market a while back. It had obviously been repaired several times but I figured for 20 bucks it was worth a try. I ran about a 3 inch long bead and lost power...

I could have had 18 double cheese burgers, some fries and a tea from McDonald's for that bill!

i weld for a living and can honestly say that hobart and weldmark are good machines that are reasonably priced. unless you weld 1/8" or less go with a 230 volt machine.

Did someone mention Lincoln? :eyes:

I have the ProCore100 for a few years and it have worked flawless. It is only 110 volt which was all I had available at the time. I tried before I bought it but could not swing the 220 volt where I was living.

Whatever you do go for the 220 volt unless you want to weld auto body panels.