• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

29" SSRs or Trxus STS

xjh3

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to this so let me no if I messed up. I've searched but have come up with more questions.

I will be going to college next year and will be spending the vast majority of my time on the road where rain and snow performance are important. I want to keep height around 29" to not affect my mpg. So instead I want something a little wider than my current cheapo national 235s. For a lot of highway driving, should I go with the 29x11.50 SSRs on new 15x8s or the 29x10.50 STSs on my current Cragar 15x7s. The wider the better without too much rubbing. I have a 2" BB. I can't seem to find anyone else who makes a wide all terrain type tire that is 29".

Any pics of either of these setups would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks.

I've never used either of those tires, but for what it's worth, I run 31x10.5 TrXus M/Ts on a two inch budget boost with stock gearing (3.07), and get just about the same mpg as when I had my 225s. Just a thought.

Welcome to the NAXJA forums!

BFG's 325/60R15 is another option, though it measures out at 30.3" tall is its 13" wide. all this is mounted on a 15x10 rim. needless to say these tires look like a box and are killer on veihcles with little lift.

If you are concerned about rain and snow performace narrower is better, I would recommend the 30x9.50r15 Pro Comp A/T's, they are sever weather rated, 50K mile rated and will probably take you further offroad than the STS will. I have a lot of customers happily running that tire some of them on their third set and still buying them. I have one customer that drive a diesel Super Duty and he had 63K on his last set and they were still looking healthy.
J