• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana 30 leaking after removing axle

dcampbell98XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Over the weekend I replaced my unit bearings, and decided to replace ujoints at that time since I have no clue when they were last replaced. After pulling the axle out, oil started leaking from the tube so I shoved a rag in there. When I reinstalled everything the axle seemed to go in smooth without getting hung up. There is still fluid leaking out of the tube. The plastic or hard rubber seal in the end is not sealing. Do I need to upgrade and replace those factory seals? They are obviously old and worn out. I'm new to doing any drivetrain and axle work, so any guidance or advice is welcome.

The only seal on those is the inner axle tube seal. You need to pull the diff cover, then pull the carrier out, and then pull the inner axle tube seals out and tap in new ones. They are a ROYAL PITA.

It was hard when my axle wasn't even in the jeep.

The part number is - SPICER 46470

So if the fluid is leaking through the tube the inner seal is shot? Are the outer seals just to keep debris out of the tubes?

This is a D30 axle, correct? You didn't put a D44 up front or anything, correct?

The D30 axle tube just has one inner axle tube seal to keep the diff fluid from leaking into the axle tubes.

There are no outer seals on the D30. That little dinky plastic thing on the axle shafts is to attempt to keep dirt and water and junk out of the axle tube. It's not meant to keep the oil in the tube.

Yeah it is a D30. Well in that case looks like I get to look forward to pulling it all apart again. Atleast everything I just did will come off nice and easy. Thanks for the quick response. With it leaking i should be fine to drive it as long as there is fluid in there correct?