• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need to get back into Systems Admin Job!

Mudderoy

NAXJA Forum User
Anyone out there work in I.T.?

I worked 16 years at one company as a systems admin and networking admin. I guess my salary was too high, so right before my review they offered me a package.

Here I am 5 years later making $30k less per year and hating my pseudo-I.T. job. You know the one where you have to work with computers, do all the stuff you did before but when you need something shutdown, reset, etc... you have to open a ticket for I.T. to take 5 hours to do something you could do in 2.5 seconds?

Anyway my point is I have a lot of experience and I keep applying for I.T. jobs but get very few calls, and fewer interviews. Maybe it's my resume, maybe it's the wrong experience. I was thinking about splitting up my resume into a Systems Admin and a Networking Admin. I have zero certifications, so I was thinking about getting some.

I've worked with Linux since about 1998, Windows NT and 2000, some 2003.

Should I go for the Linux cert or get into the crowd of the folks with the MS certs?

All my networking was on CISCO routers, frame relay and standard point to point circuits. Checkpoint and PIX firewalls. This was on a 4000+ user network. Primary systems were Open VMS and UNIX. I had a UNIX admin, so I never really did anything on that. The Open VMS, Windows, and LINUX servers were my main domain.

I guess working at one job so long was a bad thing. I find it easy to work with the electronic stuff, but difficult to work at getting a job. Any advice would be great! (It should pay more and I can buy more Jeep parts!) party1:

I forgot to mention I'm in the Houston Texas area.

Last edited:
Its a bad time to be looking for an IT job. Not as bad as say, 2002, but still not great.