• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Manual to Auto transmission swap

lvcanyoneer1

NAXJA Forum User
Hello all,

I have a 97 XJ 4.0 with an AX15 and a 231 tcase that I have been building and modifying for 10 years, and I want to swap to an AWD4 auto trans. I'm getting old and I don't like crawling with the manual anymore.
I have put a lot of work into it and I don't want to just swap for another rig.
I know it might seem easier to find an auto rig, but I have a lot of build in this one that I don't want to duplicate into another one.

With all that said, I have a opportunity to buy a 2000 drivetrain that includes everything, motor, trans, all the accessories, PCM, TCM, shift controller, harness, the works. Donor XJ is going LS1.

The questions;
Has anyone done this successfully and had a clean running rig? I am looking for a write up of someone who has done this before and I am having trouble finding one that is done clean without a lot of work arounds and backwards engineering.
I'm confident the motor and trans mechanically will fit in fine and will work, it should be pretty much pull out the old and drop in the new, maybe a shortened rear driveline or something else small I don't know about. Any thoughts of obscure things to consider?
My biggest concern is the electronics, mating a 2000 to a 1997 together that I want to try and find as much info as I can before I pull the trigger. Even though I will have a complete 2000 harness to swap in, at some point, something is gonna have to be mated together with the existing 1997.

If you have any advise or links to write ups, wiring diagrams ect, I would greatly appreciate it.