• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

whiring road noise, cupped tires/shocks?

4x4JeePmaNthINg

NAXJA Forum User
I spent the last few days trying to find out what a noise was on my jeep. I pulled front shafts, swapped unit bearings, even replaced one that I had laying around, removed drive shafts. This sound remains and comes about at 30-50 mph.

The Jeep has 35" Mtrs and they have some cupping on one of the small treads. They all have this and I rotated them the last oil change, the sound didnt change. It sounds to be from the front of the vehicle.

Assuming what I am hearing is now due to this cupped tire issue. What would cause this now? Ive run many tires on this jeep, but Ive never had tire noise like this before, so I have no real experience on how to go about this noise issue.

My shocks are bilstein 5100, and when trying to rock the car and look for excessive bouncing, I see none.

Can these shocks still be bad even though the jeep isnt flopping around?
Should I test these shock in any other way?

Are bisltein 5100s up the task of running 35"s or is this a bit big of a tire for a shock designed for the XJ?

I appreciate any insight,

Thank you in advance.

Once the tires start cupping then it just gets worse. I'd start with a tire re-balance (tires may need to be "trued"), a alignment from a good machine, and consider a beefier shock. What rims are you running and have they been for true-ness and balance?

BTW, what air pressure do you set them at, and try to get a pic of them.

Another place to look--The plastic shroud for the mechanical fan.

I had a comparable noise that I spent months trying to track down. I finally found that the plastic shroud was bending back just enough to barely touch one of the fan blades, and only when the Jeep was up to speed.