• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Suspension lift

BasselAlawar

NAXJA Forum User
Greetings,

I am new to this forum and its my pleasure! I am from Lebanon middle east!
I have a 1998 xj with 6" lift kit on short arms. The current setup is 4.5 RE coils with 1.5" coil spacer at the front and 5" leaf spring with 1" shackle at the rear.
The ride is bumpy and somehow harsh. What is your advice?

I think 6" lift with short control arms is too much- pulls the front axle back a bit and makes getting the right pinion/ Castor angles about impossible. Too much geometry-
I'd yank out the spacers in front and the shackle in back but I'm a newbie here so hopefully others will chime in with more experience

Pull the spacers up front, get shackle relocation boxes of your choice in the rear and set them up to match the 4.5 in front. Get drop brackets for the front. Enjoy the smoother ride. If still not where you want it, start looking at better shocks.

Are your fenders not trimmed but running 33/35's and that's why it's 6"?

If you wheel, the RE drop brackets will cost you a lot of ground clearance. I would look into a set of LA's at that lift. I'm running at 6" w/ RE springs and love my ride!

They take up no more clearance than longarms do. The arms go right through the middle of where the drop brackets run.

But they are about $500 cheaper.

They take up no more clearance than longarms do. The arms go right through the middle of where the drop brackets run.

But they are about $500 cheaper.

Yeah, my biggest regret was believing drop brackets were bad and going with a 4.5" long arm when I really only needed a 3" and drop brackets. Now any time I need to pull the transmission cross member, I need to mess with the suspension and that adds a good 30-45 minutes to what could be a simple task.
Live and learn.