• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

School me

JWhisenant

NAXJA Forum User
Hello all, another Newbie here looking for some information. My son is looking for an XJ I own a 98 TJ and have a fair amount of experience with it but I know very little about the XJs So I was wondering what were some of the issues with different years that I should be aware of and is there any year and model that are better than the others? He will be using it for mostly dirt trails and to and from work with the park service. Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. Oh and we are from SC

Do you have a specific year range he's looking for?

There are what I call 4 generations:

1) 1984-1986 - least desirable
2) 1987-1990 - Renix. Personally my favorite. AMC ownership
3) 1991-1996 - HO (High Output) Chrysler ownership
4) 1997-2001 - Newer "round body". Many like these the best.

Each group has their own benefits and quirks.

I highly recommend buying this book by Eric Zappe: Jeep Cherokee Performance Upgrades 1984-2001. This book was formerly known as the XJ Builders Guide. The new revised edition contains the original content plus some new additions. I used this book when I became interested in XJ's and it helped me sort a lot of stuff out. Amazon stocks all of them. I just got my revised copy to go with the original.

Eric also wrote another book: Jeep Cherokee Advanced Performance Modifications 1984-2001. This book goes to the next level covering stroker engines, custom suspension, axle swaps, etc. Also well worth the money.

Let us know what year and we can help from there.