• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Crawling for dummies

Jakdup

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 96 XJ, can I fit 38's on a 6 1/2 inch lift with fender trimming? I'm also on a budget, I was thinking a 14 bolt in rear and Chevy 60 in front? I was thinking 5.38 gears? Correct me if I'm wrong on anything I'm new to crawling. Thanks!

I was once in the situation of beng new and having a serious budget; now it's just a serious budget ;)

Walk before crawling. Get a simple 3"-4" lift and 31" tires and go from there. You'll be suprised what a stock XJ can do, let alone one lifted 3-4" with reasonable sized tires.

new to wheeling and you wanna jump to 38s and tons? There are people with a lot less lift running tires that size. Also I think chevy 60 is pass drop. You planning on a tcase swap?

I feel he is trolling

Trolling? No, new to this yes, and yes I have a Tacoma everyday driver on 35's, I'm new to crawling though. And if needed to I will switch tcase.

I would just wheel that tacoma on 35s and call it done.

if you want a XJ on tons research and read threads. there are tons of great builds on here and of course the cherokee forum on pirate. Just spend some time reading builds, you will see what works.

why a chevy 60, get a ford 60 and save yourself the time, hassle, and expense of swapping in a passenger drop t case. If you have never rock crawled then as mentioned above start off with a mild lift and 31-33 inch tires and LEARN how to crawl.

If ya gotta ask about fitting 38's on 6.5" your not ready. Also frame stiffening and a cage are a must.

Quality lift components and proper set up. LOTS of trimming. Properly built axles. Plenty of armor underneath. And frame stiffeners.

Not really easy to do on a small budget IMO.