• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Bodywork/Painting people...buggy panel painting input needed!

freerider15

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, so the time is coming near where I'll need to paint the buggy's panels.

I know some of you here do this kinda stuff for a living...so I would value your input.

As much as I thought about going with single stage, i'm just not sure it's going to give me the "pop" I want.

Color I want the panels:

34njeiw.jpg

The kicker...I'm new to painting :D

I've talked some with Sam (zluster) about this and what I need, but its always good to hear from others.

I'm going to pick up the HF Automotive HVLP set (I would get a better name brand set but not worth it with the little I plan on using it):

http://www.harborfreight.com/professional-automotive-hvlp-spray-gun-kit-94572.html

I know prep is 90% of the job.

The panels will be:

- 4 cut up stock XJ Fenders with factory paint on them
- 1 hood (bare metal)
- 2 doors (bare metal)
- Roof (bare aluminum)
- Rear gate (both factory paint / bare metal)
- Front header panel (plastic)

So with that I could use input on:

- Best way to prep each
- Painting technique cues
- Paint recommendations
- EVERYTHING ELSE I'm not thinking of :D

I really wouldn't be opposed to having someone spray it for me (one of you guys on here) pending I did all the prep...just thinking it would be out of my $ range.

So please, endow me with all your knowledge! And details please (like use XX grit, followed by XX....not just "prep is key") :D

your bare metal panels--
p180 grit in bare metal can be painted with 2 coats of epoxy primer, then your color and clearcoat.
no need for primer surfacer and all that sanding and labor.
anywhere you have sanded through paint or bondo you need primer surfacer. but only on the bondo and