• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help! New vibration :(

GauchoMD

NAXJA Forum User
What do you all think? I've been driving my 96 XJ for around 3 years now with a 4.5" lift and 32's with no vibrations (it has a 8.25 axle BTW). Anyway, a couple weeks ago I had to brake hard on the freeway and ever since then I have noticed a new vibration, at first only at freeway speeds but today I noticed it at any speed. I dont think it is the wheel/tire balance because the vibration goes away when I lay off the gas while on the freeway (actually anywhere, even though my speed doesnt go down much). I dont have a SYE, but again I never had the problem before, so could that be it? Any suggestions?

Same here 4.5 32" no vibes for years then one day it started and i just kept drivin for months then after awhile a skreech started i took off my front driveline and it stopped no vibes nothing so tomorrow im replacing my u joint that a just replaced like 4 months earlier.... try taking your front drive off.:anon:

Dont know its not tomorrow yet???????? i work 12s on graves so i havent had time yet. But im 90% sure thats it(on mine).I also dont have the sye kit just dont need it yet. It proved that when i took the front off and it drove fine around 75 with no vibrations. See if theres any movement in the ujoint itself.:patriot:

Is the vibration at all speeds? do you feel it thru the steering wheel, or thru the body/floorboards? any clunking sounds? does the vibration go away when you hit the brakes, or get worse?

Does it JUST happen when you're on the gas?