• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

3.5 re or rusty's 4.5

poorboyjohn

NAXJA Forum User
i am a newbie and i am wondering what lift kit i should get, a 3.5 re or 4.5 rusty's? or what lift should i get for my first lift? also, if i get a 4.5 lift, can i get away with just a transfer case drop or do i need a sye and cv driveshaft because i dont do much rock crawling but i do like to play in the mud.

RE.

Search - SYEs are not just for use with rock-crawlers, they are a damned good idea no matter what when lifted.

If you go with rustys, be prepared to buy some extra stuff, brake lines, sye, ds, and some quick disconnects or longer links for your front sway bar to get rid of the haggard drop brackets they send you. I have their 4.5, and the brake line extensions should definetly be temporary, they really dont give you much more travel. Plus the e-brake cable gets pulled pretty tight, and an sye is a must. Plus it will sit more like 5.5" at least.

i ran the rustys 4.5" springs with 1.25 shackles and 1.75 spacers, dropped the tcase .75" no binding what so ever and no sye so no it is not necessary that was on an 88 xj my buddy has a 92 with the same setup and no probs what so ever

Much different experience for me. With my 4.5, I had the drivline binding up and making a grinding sound under deceleration, and minor vibes with the 1" t-case drop installed on my 96. I would say it could go either way and to prepare for the worst and hope for the best.

I was contemplating the same thing.

It seems like the RE 4.5 is significantly more expensive than the Rusty's. Is there any justification for paying almost double for a similar lift?

Are people with the 4.5 Rusty's happy with the off-road handling characteristics?