• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Problems with lift install... looking for help

ttboo

NAXJA Forum User
Hi folks,

I started installing an RE 3.5" lift on my rusted and beat-up '89 XJ today. This is my first attempt at this sort of thing, so I started with the rear first, figuring it would be simpler.

Things went well at first - everything came off without too much fuss - but I cannot get the new spring packs on. They look to be at least 2" too short, and the shackle doesn't want to move. So, do I remove the shackle? Or do I BFH it into position? Or something else?

(Oh, and BTW the shackle is pointed towards the back of the Jeep at about 45 degrees.)

I've given up for the day now, but I'll be back at it tomorrow. Any help/advice gratefully received. Thanks :)

lift help

You need to loosen the top bolt that holds the shackle. The shackle shoudl be able to move freely. If it doesnt' then it means its rusted up. Before you try and just Manhandle it. Use some liquid wrench or something like it and spray it down good and let it sit. Then try and brake it loose. The spring # should be on the spring. Make sure it matchs what RE says the pack should have for the lift you bought. Once the shakle is loose, Take the bolt out and grease it good then put it back on the car and then put the spring it the shackle.

You may want to spray all the bolts that you will need to loosen when you get into the front end and make life alittle easier when you get to that. If you haven't taken the upper rear shock bolts out yet then you want to spray those as well. If you live in a rust belt, it is always good to periodically spray with Liquid wrench to keep them from rusting tight.
Good luck.