• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

lock-rite or mini spool?

jb98xj

NAXJA Forum User
Not sure which way to go here. I'm looking for strength and value. I have an 85% trail rig with 31's, but soon to be 33's. It has a lock-rite in the front, and a trash lock in the D44. That is part of the catch, if I go mini spool, I need an open carrier. I don't believe my axle has the id tag on it, will I need this if I need to find an open carrier? Also, if I need to switch carriers, I'll need to setup the ring and pinion, correct? I was thinking strength wise, and value the mini was the way to go, but now I'm not sure!! As you can tell I'm kind of new to the world of differentials. My experience consists of 1 lock rite install, and one powertrax no slip install. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

My opinion mini spools are a waste of money. just weld it if you don't trust yourself to weld it or don't have the tools then most 4x4 or machine shops will do it for around $25. As for the strength the mini spool doesnt give you any it is made to be the weak link in the rear so you will break it instead of an axle supposedly. I got mine welded on a 100% daily driver and trail rig.
HTH

they're not designed to be the weak link, it just ends up being that way, I busted my mini and I also twisted my 9" shaft at the same time, I would have rather just busted a shaft then both. I now have a full spool, much stronger. I recommend the full spool over welding, but there will be many people to reply that will disagree with me cuz the welding works for them. Welding is cheap and easy, and it works for a while.

Full Spool.