• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Body men, rear-end accident victims, need advice. Please help!

Powerman

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 2000 XJ and was rear-ended pretty hard. I'm not going to get into it. I've already vented on another forum. So the hit was probably 20-30mph. Maybe more, I'm not an expert. A Saturn went under me, the hitch took the brunt of the hit. My cargo floor is raised a good 3"-4". The rear frame rails are buckled. The "z" in them is about 3" out. The whole back end is buckled down at the rear door rear pillar. All 4 doors are misalligned/jacked. My adjuster said the rear frame rails might have to be cut out forward of the rear axle and replaced. He said my XJ is worth 11K, minus 20% for salvage. So 9K. Here is my questions. Other people have said that's about a 8-10K job. Is my XJ totaled? Are the repairs going to be right, or just a band aid? I dropped it off at the body place and they said no problem, we can fix it. It's not my decision to have it totalled, but if it's iffy, maybe I can sway them. I just want it to be right, and not a lemmon. The only good thing is Progressive will warranty the work for as long as I own it, but it's not transferable. Any insight, experience, advice is very much appriciated. I just want to be able to make informed decisions. Thanks for any help you might have!
P.S. No one I care about was seriously hurt, just real sore.

Dirt Surfer said: