• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Motor mounts from stock shackles

srimes

NAXJA Forum User
99 xj, 205k or so. Removed mechanical fan and put in a 2nd electric, but the motor moved enough to push into the fan. My wheeling budget is small and I'm just learning to weld/fab, so I thought I'd save $85 and fab my own. Just put on lift shackles and the stock shackles looked like a perfect starting point.

Standard crappy cell phone picture disclaimer applies.

Stock shackles and old, cracked mounts:
IMG_20120417_074453.jpg

Cut the shackles at the web. They were just a little short, so I used a little strip of the 1/4" stock as a spacer. Another strip to reinforce it, and a little smoke and fire later, they're done.

IMG_20120418_173726.jpg

IMG_20120418_173708.jpg

Little more narrow than stock, so I stacked washers to take up the slack.

IMG_20120418_194824.jpg

IMG_20120418_194931.jpg

What do y'all think? And how do I know if I need a new tranny mount? I looked at it when I put in a sye and removed the tcase drop a month or two ago, and it looked fine.

Idk, looks a little sketch here...

And did you not run a bead on the insides of the mounts?

Of course time will tell, if they dont break then great job!

The circled part is the stock shackle. I ran a bead on both sides where it sits on the spacer.

On the other upright I only ran a bead on 1 side as there wasn't room from the inside. I think it's burned in good enough, but I'm no expert.

Wow, that's some ghetto fab. Why not spend the $15 and get new motor mounts all the way around? I like my Jeep enough that when I have a problem I spend the few extra dollars to do the job right.