• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

G2 d44's from 4WheelParts

Humpi_Wudkok

NAXJA Forum User
I did a search on G2 axles and nothing came up. I'm a newb so if I screwed up....be gentle.

I am new to XJs and jeeps and bought a 2000 sport and have been having it built as an desert expedition vehicle/ daily driver / weekend get away vehicle with the kids.

So far I have done a RE 5.5 long arm kit. I have it riding on ProComp 32" Mud tread.....I went back and fourth on axles because I wanted to do a gearing change to 4.10/4.11s...should I keep the d30/35c and modify or go all out with d44 front and rear??? Also my XJ has ABS and I wanted it functional for street driving. (I know I can pull relays to deactivate ABS for off road driving if need be) I was agonizing over investing any money into the stock axles.

Right or wrong I ended up just saying screw it and ordered a brand new set of G2 d44 assemblies for my XJ, I know it's overkill for the tire size, I know this is expensive...but has anyone else done it or is there any feedback on G2 stuff in general?

I would imagine its nice stuff, well it damn well better be for the prices they want.

Any reason for not using a J/Y D44 or 8.8 in the rear?

I believe the search engine in NAXJA requires 3 or more characters to search therefore it ignores "G2" in a search request.

Try searching "G2 NAXJA" from Google and you may get a result.(I tried this and found some mention but not what you are looking for). You may need to add some more detail to find what you want like "G2 Axle NAXJA" etc....

the G2 front is a low pinion TJ front housing with small weak tubes. Not even close to worth the $ they want for it.

I know its too late, but you could have had a High Pinion D44 housing w 3" thick wall tubes, for that price (or less).