• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Doing Lift Need Help With Leaf Spring Bolt

Khary23

NAXJA Forum User
So this is my first lift and every thing that can go wrong has. All but three of the upper shock mount bolts broke, and the front drivers side leaf spring bolt was seized pretty bad. I tried every thing that I could to get it out with no luck. Finally I decided to cut it out. I tried to get the blade as close to the spring as possible so that I would have something to grab with me vice grips As luck would have it I cut it too close to the frame and now the end of the bolt is stuck in the rail. I have no experience welding, so would like to ask for suggestions on how to get this bolt out.
Thanks

I'd hardly say that everything has gone wrong. If you were planning on installing your lift without running into these issues, you were severely misinformed. Your only chance of retrieving many of these bolts would have required a week or two of prep work (i.e. lots of penetrating oil)...and that's not even a guarantee.

As for the leaf spring bolts, I for instance drilled straight through the 'frame' and purchased some new 8" or 9", grade 8 hardware. You odds are quite slim that you'll end up retaining the factory weld nut.

Now is not the time to get discouraged...take your time and don't be afraid to use your imagination. This site will answer all of your questions. After all, the 'search' feature is your friend.

I'd hardly say that everything has gone wrong. If you were planning on installing your lift without running into these issues, you were severely misinformed. Your only chance of retrieving many of these bolts would have required a week or two of prep work (i.e. lots of penetrating oil)...and that's not even a guarantee.