• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Speaker suggestions?

BigRedJeepster0381

NAXJA Member #1011
I'm looking to replace the stock speakers in my 98, especially the back speakers. I don't want to put a system in because I need the room in the back. Are there any speakers out there that could throw as good of a punch as a woofer? I'm also curious to see what speakers you went with when replacing the stock speakers.

I'm not an expert when it comes to audio equipment so any advice or suggestions will help.

Thanks!

Jeremy

Check out the Cerwin Vega Vmag speakers. That's what I'll get when I upgrade. You can get them from www.etronics.com. They have excellent low and high frequency extension.

Also, check out www.jeepforum.com. There's an awsome tech writeup about a sub enclosure a guy fabbed up in his rear cargo side "cubby" hole. Looks completely stealth.

I'm not real big on systems but last summer i put Sony Xplod 3-way speakers in the front (about $100 for the pair) and Kenwoods in the back (paid about $90 for those), and they work great. They handle a good amount of bass. If you want a sub but dont want to lose room in back, I remember seeing a custom box for a 10" sub that fits into the side between the rear wheelwell and liftgate but your gonna need a small amp to.

Dean

BigRedJeepster0381 said:
I'm looking to replace the stock speakers in my 98, especially the back speakers. I don't want to put a system in because I need the room in the back. Are there any speakers out there that could throw as good of a punch as a woofer? I'm also curious to see what speakers you went with when replacing the stock speakers.

I'm not an expert when it comes to audio equipment so any advice or suggestions will help.

Thanks!

Jeremy