• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Oil In AIr Filter/Not Passing CA Smog

truckeejeeper

NAXJA Forum User
So, maybe a noob question, but I'm new to this issue. I'm trying to pass smog (CA, uggg) and I'm failing in just the last category, NO at 25mph. Anyway, going through everything, and I find my air filter (K&N) is covered in oil. So now I'm reading about CCV/PCV valves. I know I replaced these in the last 10 years. But the front one (CCV?) isn't super tight where it attaches to the engine. I mean, it's on there good, but I can rattle it around a bit, I'd be shocked if it was airtight. Is it supposed to be? I don't remember it ever being "airtight" tight, but I haven't really paid much attention to it either.

Should I just replace all this stuff and clean the filter? Maybe just blow out the hoses with air and replace the elbows and grommets I guess...? Hoses look fine. Everything looks fine actually, but front elbow/grommet just not super tight.

Jeep runs amazing. Changed oil, O2 sensor, and got some CataClean to use for next test (any tips with that stuff are welcome too. Saw a recommendation somewhere online)

As always, thanks for any help-

TJ

At the risk of confusing things more....

Your K&N is supposed to be covered in oil However, it's with the K&N oil, not engine oil. Do you use the K&N oil or do you run the filter dry?

The elbow towards the front of the engine provides fresh filtered air back into the engine. If it has a lot of engine oil in it, you may be experiencing a lot of blow by.