• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

No start - Replaced rotor button, distributor cap, plugs, and wires

ECUDove

NAXJA Forum User
I searched here, on Google, and in the Hayes manual but didn't find what I was looking for.

Prior to installing these new parts, my '93 started up fine, this was just a little routine maintenance and to get my hands dirty with the Jeep as I am a newbie to all this.

So, as the subject line states, I replaced all plugs and wires (parts from dealership) and the rotor button and distributor cap (AutoZone).

I made sure to write down the placement of the wires on the distributor cap and the position of the rotor button and replace with the new parts in the same order I found everything...

Now the jeep will not crank at all... doesn't even sound like it is trying to turn.

Anyone have any ideas on where I can begin trouble shooting?

Was my method (replace old working parts with new parts in the same manner as they were removed) flawed?

And what the heck is the little black plastic "button" on the top of the distributor cap? Looking on the underside of the cap, it looks like it serves no purpose?!?!

Thank you very much for helping out this fool.

pull cap off, make sure rotor is not spining around on shaft.. if its not that.. make sure the coil wire is hooked up to the center of dist cap...
P/S that little black cap is vent...let air in side as lota funky static ele stuf goes on inside that when its going...

I will check the rotor spinning theory and re-check the wires tomorrow when the light is better (not my DD so no immediate rush). Thanks for the suggestions and the answer to the mysterious black thing!

There is crank, no start, and there is no crank. From your original post I'm not quite sure what the problem is.