• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Looking for info on Sunnyvale area

old_man

NAXJA Forum User
I am a contract engineer and I am looking at accepting a contract at Lockheed Martin in Sunnyvale.

1) Any idea on where to find a cheap place to live. Will commute up to an hour if needed.

2) Any places to stay away from? Is there much of a crime problem? I'm thinking of driving my rig out instead of my daily driver.

3) Are there any places to wheel on weekends, especially during the winter?

Anybody got a room to rent or a place to park a trailer? Doesn't need to be fancy. I'm a pretty fair fabricator and could help someone build their rig.

Tom Houston
[email protected]
970-391-8927

Any place in the southbay or peninsula will be SUPER expensive. East bay where I live is a little cheaper. Over the hill in Pleasanton, Dublin, Livermore is nice but there's only 1 commute route which is a nightmare and takes people 2 hours to get 30 miles. I would not go more north than Fremont/Newark. It starts getting sketchy up there.

Hollister offroad park is about 1-1.5 hours south and open year around and the place to go for day-trips. We don't really have a winter or summer here.

Last edited:
Traffic can be a pain, but 2 hrs to go 30 miles is an exaggeration. I've commuted to various parts of the Bay Area for the last 15 years from Patterson and that 80+ mile drive takes about 2hrs. If there is a major accident on 680, I've gone all the way over mount Hamilton in 2 hours. Hollister is more reasonably priced and usually an hour to 1.5 hours and then you're already there for wheeling on the weekends.

I'd say Sunnyvale is a nice area. My grandparents have lived there for years, and my dad was raised there. I like it, but just like any area I'm sure there are places to stay away from.