• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help! xj wont smog!

Gavin96

NAXJA Forum User
HEY! im new to NAXJA as well as jeeping and need some direction..
i took my truck to some ghetto smog place in santa ana and had it hooked up to their computer (its a 1996 4cyl) and it read that my engine was running lean. said it could be a sensor or the maf.
he wanted $210 to pass it the "special way" but for that price i think it could be fixed to pass..
any ideas or advise?
any help would be greatly apreciated
thanks,
gavin

210 for a special is pricy... try switchin the o2 sensor and maybe the map

Do you have the actual readings the machine did when they smogged your jeep? If so post up the numbers for the co's hc's and nox both idle and 25mph.. That would be the best way to help you figure what could possibly be wrong..

Or if your free you can swing by my place we can look it over and I will have agander at ur readings, alek is going to be over at 9 using my jack and stands to do tie red end while he is doing that we can look at urs pm coiming your way with number.

Peace
Ted

Do you have the actual readings the machine did when they smogged your jeep? If so post up the numbers for the co's hc's and nox both idle and 25mph.. That would be the best way to help you figure what could possibly be wrong..

x2

We can't help with "my jeep failed smog" unless you tell us what number were high......I guess by "us" I mean Scotty because he is who I call when I fail smog!!! Well......then I bought a Bronco and it LOVES smog shops :wave1:

Thanks alot for the responses. I didnt get a printout from the shop.

Ted it would be great to meet another xj owner so close by! We should definately meet up!