• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Friendly rear main seal solution

BrOndon

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys. I just wanted to share some experience on a product I swear by. So I flip these jeeps for a living and as we all know a rear main seal leak is synonymous with the 4.0L. Now unless you are dropping the pan which on the 4x4 is no walk in the park the rear main is not the most simple thing to get to. Even if you do drop the pan those who have replaced the rear main seal know that its not as simple as videos and books make it sound. At leas the few times ive done it it wasnt.

While at the local parts store i saw this product by blue devil called rear main stop leak. Sounds interesting and at 8 bucks i figured why not. Poured it in and incredible, i dont know how, but this stuff works great. Poured a whole bottle into the crank case and after running it for a bit the leak is gone. Not even a drip on some of my worst of rear main leaks.

I know blue devil rear main stop leak is not a permanent solution (although bottle claims to be) or the best way but for 8 bucks you cant beat it. Just thought I would share for those who are tired of oil spots on their driveway but dont have to funds time or know how to replace the rear main seal.

Side note im not affiliated with said company whats so ever.

. So I flip these jeeps for a living...

I know blue devil rear main stop leak is not a permanent solution.

Nothing personal...but I'm glad I'm not buying one of your flipped Jeeps from you. I'd hate to find out that the PO had an RMS problem and just covered it up with this stuff. I don't use any type of stop leak because it either swells up and eventually ruins seals or clogs things up with micro-particles that are a b**ch to get rid of down the road when it gets "properly" fixed.