• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

popping 242

radardog

NAXJA Forum User
i was wondering if it is normal for a 242 to stick in 4wd, when you shift it back to 2wd?

the story.

i backed my 87 xj out of my yard, and up a semi steep hill covered in pea gravel, so i locked it into 4x so i wouldnt spit my roomie gravel all over the place.

when i got it onto the pavement, i stopped, put tranny in nuetral, and shifted the t-case into 2wd.

i then shifted into drive and executed a very sharp turn to get the truck onto my trailer and it was popping rather violently as though it was still in 4wd...

i am a jeep newb, so cut me a little slack please.

also, if it is popping really bad like it was what are the chances my chain/ sprockets are shot?

are there any good beefy junk yard replacements that slip right in?

242 are tricky you have to be rolling foward while shifting back to 2 wheel drive.
Back when I first got my jeep I was ready to pull the transfer case.
Then someone on the board told me this. I went out side and drove stright, put trans in neutral and then shifted back to two wheel drive. It worked great. Now
I Just Know I have to be rolling to shift back to 2 wheel drive.

Ya i used to have a 231 and it shifted whenever and however i wanted, I recently put n a 242 and it is totally different, like stated you have to be rolling, the only 4wd I can get to without rolling is 4lo for some reason it goes in when i am stopped in neutral with no problems.

Just like the old Quadra Tracs lol. Well this helped me with my problem as well. Any specific speeds you pop it back into 2wd? I know with the QT they say you have to be coasting around 5mph