• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Putting the Head back on?

bigboyslimjimbo

NAXJA Forum User
I was wondering if i need to rtv any of the head bolts? I believe their are 14 of them. This is my first time takeing the head off and putting it back on so i was in need of some advise if any Thanx.

Correct - PTFE pipe dope on the driver's side front head screw. Final torque for that screw is 100 pound-feet, and 110 pound-feet for the rest.

Standing on the driver's side, the torque sequence is to start on the driver's side centre, go to the passenger side centre, and work out from there in a clockwise spiral. I torque to 25-50-75-final pound-feet, and haven't had any trouble (I know it's more than the manual sez to do, but I'm cranky.)

Replace the screws for the thermostat housing with brass, bronze, or stainless. If you have to use alloy steel, coat the entire screw with RTV up to the underside of the head.

Replace the screws for the manifold. I like to use silicon bronze, but you may not have time to wait for those (they have to be ordered from an outfit like Fastenal.) If you're in a hurry, you can use SAE5 carbon steel - but replace them every time. Retain and reuse the dish-shaped washers. I also suggest replacing the studs - you can cut new ones from threaded rod (I use brass) in 3/8"-16, just get new nuts as well (the OEM ones are threaded 3/8"-24, and you'll be eliminating that.)

If you want to follow the factory instructions exactly, you should not put anything on the bolts (except the front one already mentioned which needs sealant). In addition you should not re-use bolts. Here are the reasons...