• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need Advice for Build up

I am a Soldier curently serving in IRAQ. My wife bought me a 2001 Sport 4 door. I am very excited about trail riding again once I return to the States. I have big plans for this Jeep and want it to be a great trail rig but also be able to be driven on the street. Here are a list of some things I am wanting to do..1. 8" lift from Rusty's 2. 35" Tires3. A locker in the front and rear although I really do not want an ARB4. Offroad Front and Rear Bumpers5. Possible Roof Rack6. Trail Jammer kit7. Gears to match tire size.The Jeep has a D30 in Front and a D35 in the rear. My wife says I can do anything I want as long as I make it still Look Good in her eyes. I would appriciate any advice I can get. This will be my second trail rig but my First JEEP!

i say go with 6" lift and 33's, go with clayton, tnt or fulltraction, ditch the D35, toss in a 8.25 D44 or 8.8, as far as gears 4.56's will do fine

I really want to go with the 8" just to stick out in a crowd and I used to own a Dodge Ram that had 12" and 39" tires so i am used to being up high. I am deff considering swaping out the d35 for a D44 but i am also thinking of chrome molly axles..

Consider swapping the front to a HP D30 too. the 01s came with a LP D30, and if you lift it 8", you might get some bad driveline vibes up front....You will definitely need an SYE and new rear driveshaft (Tom Woods?). Also, you'll need to redo your trackbar setup, and definitely redo your steering, maybe even a new steering box. Going to 35s with 8" of lift is a huge step and involves changing a lot more than 6 inches and 33s.

You'll hear a lot of people say to stay away from Rusty's....

X2 Be sure to check out Full Traction, TNT Customs Y Link or Clayton...

Come home safe...