• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

At 1/4 tank truck feels lik it is going to run out

U2RA_WINNER

NAXJA Forum User
Hello all,
I am new to this great site, NICE JOB to ALL.:clap:

I just sold my 2003 Discovery II, Ran into some serious health issues and could no longer to dump $$$ into it.

Bought an XJ last week. The previous owner did allot of major work. I lucked out.

One issue is that it feels like its going to run out of gas at 1/4 tank. Is this the pump, a flaot or something else? I appreciate your help. :dunno:

MP

When asking questions, include the year of your rig since different years might have different known issues. I'd say the sender is bad and I'd replace that first. When you fill up after it starts acting strange, how much gas is it taking? Congrats on getting an XJ and enjoy this site. It has a crap load of info. Remember, the "search" feature is your friend.

Sorry I promise I am trainable.

It's a 1994. Everything seems normal until the gauge reads 1/4 tanks, then it gets shady like its going to run out of gas. The longer ypu drive the more it sputters.

The gauge is reading correctly & 1/4 tank is left as it requires 3/4 to fill it.

I will check the sender (Whatever/wherever it is) first.

THX
MP

How many liters are you putting in to fill up from 1/4 tank?

On the newer models (97-01) this is a common problem, but on these, its usually the pickup sock/ filter at the bottom of the fuel pump. They get clogged and need to be replaced. This happened to me and I just bought a new pump/ filter kit for $90 for a walbro and havnt had any issues since. Whatever it is, your definetly going to need to remove tha pump from the tank, which requires lowering the tank, an easy job as long as the tank is low. Once you get it out, im sure the problem will be obvious.

-Jerry