• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

brake portioning valve

afd516

NAXJA Forum User
I have been told by a few people that removing my portioning valve will help my rear brakes get more fluid, thus more stopping power. Is this true?

I have a 89 with a lp d44 front, (the brakes work great on front) and a 9" rear with drums (the rear works maginaly). It is a completely new system except for the master, booster, valve and lines.

For now the rear drums are as good as they are going to get until I try something I have not yet. I was going to pull the valve and see what happens. Good or bad idea?

This rig is 90% trail and 10% road.

Search for similar thread "proportioning valve" or "adjustable proportioning valve". We just had a lengthy topic on this and you may find the answer to your problem there.

Im a newb so dont take my word for it but as it was told to myself and others you do NOT want more pressure to the rear brakes. It will cause lock up and rear end to swing around and become the front end! :shocked:

edited: heres the thread... http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=81438&highlight=proportioning+valve

Last edited:
I did a search and came up with nothing. Thanks for the link. I was going to pull the valve but have not yet because I do not know enough about it. That is why I am asking. I am not sure that it is what I need to do. I will have to research it more.

I just finished reading the thread that was linked. Thanks! I still have questions though. I will ask here since I am askin about altering the valve or removing it. What does removing the o-ring do.

BTW, i have 36" tires with probably 350 lbs of weight in the rear including bumper, cage, spare tire and parts, etc. I know that this is probably a factor.