• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I tow a 4,300 lb, 24' travel trailer-But i still want a 3"-4" lift.

I figure this is something that i should put a lot of research into. I tow pretty frequently a vintage 68' Airstream that I am restoring. What kind of lift is best? I figured a long arm lift because of the better road handling. I am open to any suggestions from 3-5" I am a newbie to the lift process, i have a BB for now, and all i know is what i hear about companies. $$ is not necessarily a worry- i'm expecting up to about $2,000 for lift, shocks, brake line extensions, etc. The regearing is a whole other process. P.S. I already have anti-sway and weight distributing, and have found drop hitches that will work with the lifts.

JeepinAudiophile said:
I figure this is something that i should put a lot of research into. I tow pretty frequently a vintage 68' Airstream that I am restoring. What kind of lift is best? I figured a long arm lift because of the better road handling. I am open to any suggestions from 3-5" I am a newbie to the lift process, i have a BB for now, and all i know is what i hear about companies. $$ is not necessarily a worry- i'm expecting up to about $2,000 for lift, shocks, brake line extensions, etc. The regearing is a whole other process. P.S. I already have anti-sway and weight distributing, and have found drop hitches that will work with the lifts.

My only suggestion is to go with a full replacement leaf pack in the rear and ditch any lift blocks. Other than that, you may want to consider an axle flop on the trailer instead of the drop hitches (depending on how much drop you need.)
Billy