• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Diesel Swap??

Mpeckham22

NAXJA Forum User
im looking into doing a diesel swap, maybe a 4bt, the Mercedes 5cyl, or maybe the renault 2.1 that xj's got.. my question sits more in with how will diesel cope with working much lower gears? im running 5.13's with 37's and im looking to go diesel for better fuel economy as well as more power and so on... but im not very experienced with diesel and im curious of what I should be looking for in the diesel engine for my jeep... i know the 4bt is pretty common, any other ideas?

im looking into doing a diesel swap, maybe a 4bt, the Mercedes 5cyl, or maybe the renault 2.1 that xj's got.. my question sits more in with how will diesel cope with working much lower gears? im running 5.13's with 37's and im looking to go diesel for better fuel economy as well as more power and so on... but im not very experienced with diesel and im curious of what I should be looking for in the diesel engine for my jeep... i know the 4bt is pretty common, any other ideas?

what kind of fuel economy are you getting now? i'm not doing the math to figure your final drive ratio, but what RPM range are you using in your day to day driving? is it revving easily or are you lugging the engine as it accelerates? dont be afraid to let the 4.0L rev a bit. my 90 XJ 4.0L AX-15 rig improved the fuel economy when i went with the lift, 33s and 4.56s. RPMs around 3000 at highway speeds and it breathed easily.
the expense of swapping your drive train will far exceed the $$ savings at the pump. maybe you need deeper gears or a set of smaller street tires to get some mileage back?
adjust your driving style or buy a Corolla for DD stuff.