• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drivetrain noob seeks advice.

AdamGBabcock

NAXJA Forum User
Yes I searched, yes I'm a noob, please help if you know anything about the topic
1989 XJ Laredo, 4.0L, AX-15, NP231, Dana 30/35. Hopefully that will help. I get a clunking everytime I either get into gear too hard or press/ let off the gas with any speed. I also feel drivetrain vibes at 45+ mph. Tires are balanced and vibe is majorly affected by gas/clutch pedal. If I drive perfectly with super gradual acceleration sometimes I can avoid the clunking. In neutral the motor doesn't twist with throttle so I don't think motor mounts are the issue. I haven't been able to team up with anyone to try looking under while they're operating. Checked out the tranny mount, seemed fine and tight, same with crossmember but I noticed while underneath I can wiggle my rear drive shaft side to side at both the front and rear ujoint. Able to move enough to make a metal clunk sound. Is this normal, should there be play in ujoints? I'm able to shift it side to side approximately 1/8th inch and can see greased innards where the needle bearings should be. I have video of shaking by hand I will post a link when I'm home. I think this is likely my vibe problem but can't afford replacing parts that don't need replacing. Any thoughts? Anyone think this could also be my clunking noise?

should not be noticeable play in u-joints. I would start by replacing those and then seeing where you're at. If you can shift it 1/8" and can reproduce clunk you definitely need to replace them even if that isn't the whole problem.