• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Win 7 Question...

5-90

NAXJA Forum User
ThinkPad T520i Win7Pro64, more specifics if you need them (but I doubt it.)

How can I tell Windoze that I am an administrator, so stop telling me I need to give permission to move/delete/whatever a given file? I've tried to set attrib -r globally, but is there some *nix-type file permission setup that I'm missing? If so, how can I correct it - globally?

Damned thing's driving me batty, and I don't have tech books around later than NT4/98SE...

you can disable the UAC.

then your account acts like an admin account just like in XP.

if you want to globally change file permissions you'll need to write a batch file using the attrib command.

what exactly are you trying to modify?
there are some files in win7 that even the attrib command won't touch, unless you're booted to the recovery console.

Start>Control Panel>User Accounts then select your account if it doesn't do it by default. Click on change user account control settings, move the slider down to never notify and hit ok. It will pop up with the window wanting permission to do it so just give it permission then reboot and problem should be solved.

My account is an Admin account - it is on all machines around here (and those that people bring by for me to work on.)

What I'm trying to correct is the irritating little pop-up that says "You must be an Admin to do this" that I get when trying to delete or move some files around. These are common data files (.pdf, .mp3, .avi, and the like) that shouldn't have any special protections on them.

It's like when you used to get "This file is set to read-only" status on older versions of Windoze, but I've done the GUI equivalent of "attrib *.* -r" in the relevant directories, so that's not it.