• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Wht drill presses are you running?

blondejoncherokee

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
So I sorta fried a drill press ive been using for years(1989 sears version?), in a bind, I went to HF and got a cheapo for 50$. man it sucks bad.

whats happening, is I am used to a fresh 1/2" bit -same bits, I buy multiples frequently so they are always in good shape- opening up a hole with ease with the old drill press,, and this hardbor freight one just sticks . I have the RRMS around 760. Drilling the pilot holes through some 1/4" plate went through no problem (1/8" bits) at 1680 RPMs with the new one, dropped in the 1/2" (brand new) bits and the things just jam up, like when the darn thing just sits there not moving. I am using oil to lube, quite alot. I knew the HF would suck bad, just not this much with fresh bits...

ive been using my crappy hand drills lately. they punch right through it with the same bits.

I need to buy another drill press, any ideas for something that isnt too expensive?

I am looking at used 1/2 HP deltas right now on CL. that seems like a good way to go.

Last edited:
What's the model number on your HF press?

its the cheapest one, lowest of the low. I still thought it would drill through metal with a fresh bit. I havent even tried using 5/8" + bits on it. ill have to check. grabbed it in a bind on saturday morning. thing sucks.

I love my crafstman drill press. don't get a benchtop one they don't go slow enough..

remember when drilling steel, the slower the better. it will cut better and save your bits.

Ok, I was just curious. They had 3 different base models, one had great reviews the others had crap reviews.

hmm . Maybe ill have to read some reviews. Ill look into that. Its the cheapo 49$ one(actually 99$ normally, had a coupon for 49$)