• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tips for top end?

Greasemunky13

NAXJA Forum User
I have a '89 xj 4.0 that I'm looking to get more top end out of. I'm new to the Jeep family and don't have a ton of knowledge about them. I've been searching around but can't seem to find anything that has any solid solutions. I have headers, a k&n filter (not an intake system), and four hole injectors. Is there more things I could do to get some more power on the top side?! Anything I can swap from '91-'01s?! Thanks in advance.

I put the Leigh 60mm throttle body(strokedjeep) on my 87. Along with the opened up exhaust, it is night and day difference. You will love it!

I have a '89 xj 4.0 that I'm looking to get more top end out of. I'm new to the Jeep family and don't have a ton of knowledge about them. I've been searching around but can't seem to find anything that has any solid solutions. I have headers, a k&n filter (not an intake system), and four hole injectors. Is there more things I could do to get some more power on the top side?! Anything I can swap from '91-'01s?! Thanks in advance.

Aftermarket CAI (preferably one that has a heatshield for the filter)
Bored 62mm HO throttle body
'99+ curved runner HO intake manifold
'91-'99 HO head (porting it will add even more HP)
Performance camshaft

Then if you're still not happy, add more displacement and build a 4.6L stroker.

The 99+ manifold will fit? Didn't know that. Nor did I know about the head. How much more do I need to do to replace both? And do you ha e a link to get a cam? I can't seem to find a good place....

For the head, which it more desirable to swap onto a Renix, the 7120 or 0630?

Can you use a HO throttle body with a Renix system?

You can use an HO throttle body, but you have to fab up a TPS mount and all that crap to gain 2mms.