• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rural Internet

seanR

Want to puff on my pipe?
NAXJA Member
I am moving 20 miles out side of the city and will not have cable anymore.
I will still be able to get 4G cell but no DSL or Cable.
What do you people that live outside of the city limits use for internet?
No phone lines, so even if I wanted dial-up I couldn't get it.

Get yourself an unlimited data plan on 4G is the best way. Other than that, satellite is OK but your latency will drive you nuts.

I've had some experience with those 4G hotspot points you can get from ATT or Verizon. Actually decently fast. I would recommend it.

Sounds like cellular or satellite will be your only options.

Cellular "unlimited" plans are anything but. Read the fine print very carefully. At best, once you hit the cap, you'll get throttled back. Worst case is that you'll get hit with overage charges. Yes, I know, it's not right, I don't have enough money to fight that war.

Satellite is expensive, and has major latency issues. You're not running a VPN that I know of, so that's not a problem, and you're not a gamer, so that shouldn't be an issue either.

In either event, you're going to have capacity issues. Don't plan on streaming video across it, like a lot of Youtube, Netflix, Hulu, etc.

I had Huges, but went with Wild blue.Now i think they're the same folks.We can't get phone here(old wiring), not even Cell service.They're putting in towers now out here for us so it is getting better.I have both Dish and DirectTV.I get more from dish for less.Both have great picture and service.

HTH

Don't plan on streaming video across it, like a lot of Youtube, Netflix, Hulu, etc.

You mean on satellite, or 4G?
Our plan was to forgo dish TV and get OTA and internet video.