• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Recommen A Torque Wrench

UnlimitedMatt

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
My old Proto torque wrench pooped the bed so I'm in the market for a new one. I may need to buy 2 because I need to go as low as 18 ft lbs for my beadlocks and as high as 180 ft lbs for the occasional yoke.

I would rather have them made in America. :patriot:

What do you suggest?

I use both Proto and Sears. My inch pound is a Proto and the foot pound is the Sears.
I have been carrying the Sears around with me since 1973. On the plus side, Sears will do the calibration on the wrench for a reasonable charge.

My personal favorite for the price is CDI for build quality and accuracy. However I believe they are only assembled in USA. From what I can tell, Brownline and Gearwrench are both made in USA, but the Gearwrench quality isn't as good as CDI.

Stay as far away from Craftsman as possible. They are all made in China any more and the quality has totally gone.

I'm a Snap-On snob with my torque wrenches. The one that I've had for years that hasn't gone out calibration is the 3/8" QJR-3200B. I think I actually just sold the same one on here a few months ago. You can find them on ebay.

My buddy has a Snap-On digital in his shop and I feel like real man whenever I use it (which I always try to find an excuse for...)

Not sure when that changed, but my Craftsman is 5 months old and US made.

Ok, fine. They may still be made in the USA but I think they're crap. I picked up one of their $85-ish ones a while ago. The handle is all plastic and a little over a year after I bought it the handle just fell apart around the little 3/16" nut that sets the torque. I took it in and they said the warranty was only for a year and refused to support it. Never again.