• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Now I've done it (NP231 problems)

kootenayXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all, long time (over 10 year) user of NAXJA but my user name was reset a few years ago. Hoping you all can help me out as you've done in the past many times. I've owned 3 XJ's over the years, and having done everything from replacing leaking rear main seals to installing new pushrods, several lift kits etc I consider myself fairly competent but I have zero experience with the transfer case so please bear with me.

simple questions about my NP231 and a SYE

I recently (less than 500 miles ago) installed a 2.5" lift on my 2000 XJ with NP231/NV3550 5spd.

After the install I checked my driveline angles and adjusted the pinion angle to within .3* of the output on my transfer case. I know this wasn't perfect but I thought it was "close enough". After driving around for a few days I was getting some driveline vibrations between 30-45mph, below and above that (up to 90mph!) was smooth as stock so I decided to live with it for a while before deciding if I should drop the TC or pony up for a SYE.

Anyhow, fast forward to today, notice the driveline vibes have gotten worse. I crawl under and find the tailhousing is spewing fluid and there is around 1/8" play in the front most u-joint which is felt in the the slip yoke and into the tail housing as well. If I grab the stock slip yoke, I can push it up and down around 1/8"-3/16" and hear it moving inside the tailhousing.

So, what have I broken exactly? I guess I'll be springing for a SYE and repairing the damage I've done, but can someone please tell me where to get started to I know what I'll be rebuilding?

Many thanks!