• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to xj life, need some input

caleb4130

NAXJA Forum User
Hey gang, My name is Caleb. I'm new to the XJ life, but not new to off roading. A little background, I grew up and still live in Yucca Valley, ca. Have been into building and driving prerunner for around 13 years. I recently got a 1990 2dr xj 4wd. It has a rough country 4.5 short arm kit. Has the rough country shocks and add a leaf with adjustable shackles. It crawls decent enough, but it kinda sucks at speed. My goal is to have a kind of dual sport build, still be able to crawl and trail drive but also open it up a bit in open desert. I'm on a bit of a budget and can afford to do a full blown build at the moment. Any advice or suggestions?

Short arms will beat you to death at speed. Long arms are the best way to go.

That was what I fugured. I was looking at the BDS long arm conversion with the cross member and arms. I like it because it is 4 link style.

A drop bracket can work on a budget, but the long arm rides so much smoother.

Good point. What about the rear? It rides so darn harsh over everything. Thought about saving for a pair of Deaver springs, but not sure how they will do as far as flex when wheeling.

The Dever's seem to work pretty well for standard wheeling. Actually any spring pack that uses multiple thin leaves has a better ride (more progressive spring rate) then a similar rated leaf pack with fewer thicker leaves. That's why the add-a-leaf packs always suck.

For the front, you might want to check out these guys: Rough Country suspensionThey make a really nice progressive wound spring that they will sell separately. (you'll have to call and ask)I've got a set on a Wrangler.
They also have a long arm upgrade, but it's a "Y" link design.