• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Laptop shopping

bigalpha

My wife is looking to buy a new laptop. Her current HP is a total pile and she doesn't like Dells either. We are looking in the 500-800 price range. Usage will be for web browsing, office apps and the occasional movie.

Looking for something with a lot of RAM and a decent sized HDD (>320). Not sure what the good brands are nowadays, but she's looking at Lenovos - there is a current deal on an Y560p through Lenovo for $700.

Any other scorching deals or better brands out there?

I've been running an ASUS I5 for about 8 months now and have zero complaints. I'm an engineer and run some really tough apps on it with no problems. It is blazing fast, 4gb DDR, and 500gb disk. It has built in WiFi and the cellular modem. I only paid about $650 when I bough it, so you should be able to score something similar for the $500 range now.

Thanks Tom. I'll have her look up some ASUS brands too. It's good to know that you've had good success with yours even running some high demand apps.

I work in IT and over see about fifty or so laptops used by staff at a medical facility. We have not stuck to any one brand, but the Lenovos we have seem well built and I have seen absolutely no problems. I would definitely avoid Panasonic their laptops are not user friendly. We also have HP, DELL, and Mac. I am not impressed with the construction of the HP and DELL laptops. Mac is another story.

I've been running an ASUS I5 for about 8 months now and have zero complaints. I'm an engineer and run some really tough apps on it with no problems. It is blazing fast, 4gb DDR, and 500gb disk. It has built in WiFi and the cellular modem. I only paid about $650 when I bough it, so you should be able to score something similar for the $500 range now.

x2