• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Internet service recommendation

JohnX

Sarge
NAXJA Member
For several years I have relied only on cell coverage for Internet access, recently moved to a new place and have no coverage.

I don't need the fastest service, Netflix is my highest bandwidth use.

My biggest concern is not having to deal with promotional rates, I'm not willing to start at $30 a month only to see it reach $75 a month next year.

So...who do you like?

Do you have cable in your area? Are you limited to phone (DSL). Satellite, which I have some experience in, it not cheap, and probably you least best option. You're not that far out in the sticks, that you don't have cable, DSL, etc, are you? I do know your area a bit, and you should have several options.

David Bricker / SYR

I use Cox. the service is pretty damn reliable. I pay for extra bandwidth for work. (80mb/s) but I regularly speeds of double that because they have a high bandwidth in my area. for basic netflix/browsing you can stay between 10 and 20 and never have an issue, depending on how many machines you run.

I had AT&T and I wasn't impressed. Time Warner seems to be good as well, but I have no

rates change. you just have to keep fighting them. make it clear you are willing to walk away and go with their competitor.

I use Cox. the service is pretty damn reliable. I pay for extra bandwidth for work. (80mb/s) but I regularly speeds of double that because they have a high bandwidth in my area. for basic netflix/browsing you can stay between 10 and 20 and never have an issue, depending on how many machines you run.

I had AT&T and I wasn't impressed. Time Warner seems to be good as well, but I have no