• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

how i got my name welldone

welldone

NAXJA Forum User
heres a little back ground on me. i joing the army right after hich school in 97. i was in for 10 years. i worked as a military police dog handler. i went to iraq in june of 2005. while i was in iraq i was attached to the 10th mountain in norther baghdad. on dec 11, 2005 i was going out for a 3 day mission. we where only like 6 min. outside the gate. when the truck i was ridding in hit an IED. come to find out later that IED was an anti-tank mine. i was the right rear passenger in the truck. when we hit the IED i was ejected from the truck. when i was ejected from the truck i was thrown out and over the truck. i ended up landing in the on coming traffic lanes. so basically i was a human fire ball flying threw the air. when i hit the ground i stood up and opened my eyes, only to see the flames coming up from my body. so i yelled for someone to get over and help me, but no one came. so i called down and went with what they taught us to do as kids stop drop and roll. so i did that but all the ammo pouches i had on my vest was still allowing air to get to the flames. so i had to stand back up and took off my vest and rolled in the dirt again. but this time it worked. so after i got most of the flames out, i got back up and put out the rest of the fire with hands while looking for my partner Dak. but i couldn't find him, they told me later on when i was in the hospital that my dog Dak had passed away and he didn't make it out of the truck. but he gave his life to save mine. so i spent 4 months in the hospital, a little over 2 years total going threw rehab and surgeries. i have had 18 surgeries. i was burned on 54% of my body had a right broken ankle, broken wrist, and a dislocated elbow. so know i have a rod