• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Ford tech question

Jeepsloth

Gort like Jeep
Any Ford guys out there have any words of wisdom in regards to changing a timing belt on a 2001 Ford Focus ZX3?

The car crapped out on the wife yesterday and it looks like the timing belt is the culprit. I ordered a cam gear installation tool set from AEM and have found a few detailed how to's online.

I hate this car :flamemad:

Thanks

I've never worked on a Focus before but I did do a timing belt on a 95 contour 4 banger. If you have the Ztec engine its a non interference style so don't worry about any bent valves, even if the belt snapped completely.

I would replace the entire timing set while you're there, belt, tensioners, idlers and depending on where the water pump is on those you might want to replace it as well, and throw a new serpentine belt on when youre done.

A crows foot wrench can be very useful depending on the style of serpentine belt tensioer. One of the tensioners on mine used a torx head bolt to hold it on, maybe they used them on that engine as well.
I used the car jack that came with the car to hold the engine up because the engine support had to come off. pull the tire and inner fender for accses to the damper and lineing up timing marks.

This is one of those jobs that you should avoid drinking while doing, the timing is one of those things thats fairly important to how well it runs.

<sarcasm>
yeah... lets see here..
I think the FSM says
1) remove valuables from the car.
2) set fire to car
3) make it look like an accident

</sarcasm>

<sarcasm>
yeah... lets see here..
I think the FSM says
1) remove valuables from the car.
2) set fire to car
3) make it look like an accident

</sarcasm>

Haha! I think it also says run fast and buy something else! :D

:rolleyes: