• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana30 set up

2lazy2p

NAXJA Forum User
Could one of the PatternMeisters look at this pattern, I set it up as in the factory specs with depth gauge. Numbers on backlash are good as well as preloads. I am new at this. thanks

DSC00024.jpg
DSC00026.jpg

2lazy2p said:
Could one of the PatternMeisters look at this pattern, I set it up as in the factory specs with depth gauge. Numbers on backlash are good as well as preloads. I am new at this. thanks

DSC00024.jpg
DSC00026.jpg

The pattern on the coast side (pic on the right) looks good. The contact point is centered both vertically and horizontally. The pattern on the drive side (pic on the left) looks both too high and like the pinion is too deep or the carrier shim is too low on the driver’s side of the axle. This is strange. The contact pattern should be opposite of one another if it is off like that. I am by no means an expert, but I have completed a gear set up recently. I used this tech article:
http://www.pirate4x4.com/articles/tech/billavista/Gear_Setup

It shows some contact patterns at the bottom. One thing to keep in mind is that to get a good clear contact you need to apply some resistance to the rotation. Re-check your backlash and bearing preloads and re-paint. Post the new pictures.

What was your backlash?

Thanks, I have a little work to do. will re-post this afternoon with new pictures with resistance and the numbers. Thank you

Thanks for your help.
Backlash is .003
preload is about 44-45 inch pounds

I put as much resistance as I could by myself with rags etc.

Coast Pattern
DSC00028.jpg

Drive Pattern
DSC00027.jpg