• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

cleaning up drilled holes

md21722

NAXJA Forum User
Again, I'm new to metal working so please humor me some. :D

I've drilled 1/2" holes in a junk axle housing similar to what I'd do for plumbing in a locker. I see that the drilled holes are not perfectly smooth. This may be a benefit to inserting a rubber grommet but I am wondering what the correct technique would be to smooth it out, ready for tapping, etc.

I have read that you can drill 1/64" less than desired and then use a carbide burr on a straight die grinder to smooth it out to a nice clean hole.

Thoughts?

My ultimate goal by asking many of these questions is to (slowly) gain enough experience so that I can be comfortable with metal working which would include cutting/fitting square/round tubing, welding, plasma cutting, welding on new shock mounts, spring perches, trusses, etc. to both do things to the Jeep and around the shop like shelving, tables, or whatever needs to be done on what I have now and on the "farm" I want to have again...

Thanks!

IMO, if you are going to tap the hole.. then it doesn't matter. Aside from removing attached material left over from said drilling.
With welding, as long as it is clean.. it's fine.

You have issues if your drilled hole isnt 'smooth' to the naked eye. Your application shouldnt call for it, but good fabricators DO undersize their holes by roughly 1/32 or 1/64th, but do not use a carbide burr.... use a reamer. Obviously this doesnt matter 75% of the time, but for any suspension bolt holes, for sure.

1) make sure your drill bits are sharp
2) drill with less pressure, let the bit cut, don't try to force it thru
3) never heard of using a burr to smooth a hole....chances are you will make it even less round that way