• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Big Al's Bloggity Blog

Alex E

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, thought I'd finally make a blog for my pile of Heap so what the hell..here goes nothing...

For those of you who don't know me let me introduce my self. My name is Alex, I grew up in the south bay and I'm in my late 20's. I love just about anything to do with cars. I'm a mechanic for a living, I started out working on domestic and Japanese cars and now I specialize in VW's, Audis and Porsches. I own a 1966 GT Mustang I've had since high school and a 2004 GT with a full Griggs Racing chassis that I built for open track and road course driving. Then...I got a 1987 XJ...soon after it all went to hell in a hand basket and I got the wheeling bug BAD.

Before I get to the Jeepus here are a few pics of my Mustangs.

IMAGE_025.jpg

079.jpg

063.jpg

I started with a 87' XJ, 4.0, 5 speed, A/C and nothing else. No cruise control, no power mirrors, no rear defog, nothing. Its weird, it was the absolute base model but its a 4.0 with A/C, kind of nice because there isn't much else to break. I got it with 243,000 miles on the clock and I bought it for 300 bucks cash plus a rechargeable Stream Light from the Snap On truck, LOL.

062.jpg

The weirdest thing was the non tinted windows. I swear, at night time sitting at a stop light I felt like everyone was watching me, its like being in a huge fish tank with all the windows, no tint and small pillars.

Here is it after some Pro Comp wheels, 32's and a 3 inch lift.

069.jpg

This is its most current state.

IMAG0804.jpg