NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA's Technical Forums > Street and Performance
Register FAQ Users List Calendar Mark Forums Read
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Donate Bylaws Store Members Chat E-Mail

Street and Performance A forum to discuss modifications related to street XJs and performance tweaking.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 13th, 2010, 13:45
John D's Avatar
John D John D is offline
NAXJA Member # 788
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rockford, Mi
Posts: 1,383
Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

So, I basically finished up doing the 5.3L / 4L60E swap last September. One of my goals was to maintain the OEM Jeep instrument cluster to save the appearance of a stock Jeep.

I ran the Jeep PCM in tandem with the Chevy PCM. I spent some money and time plumbing the 5.3L with Jeep sensors and everything should have work, it didn't. You see, the gauges are fed (I think it starts in '97) by the signals being multiplexed through a buss going from the PCM to the instrument cluster. Even so, my theory was that the proper sensor would feed the Jeep PCM and send the signal to the dash. Unfortunately this wasn't the case. It appears in my case, that the Jeep PCM is going into a sort of auto-shutdown. Countless hours of research (wire diagrams, web searching, interviews with Mopar experts, and seat of the pants troubleshooting) have proven that it is not an auto-shutdown. What happens in my case is, when you go ‘key-run’ all of the Jeep gauges light up and read accurately. When you go ‘key-run/start/run’ the gauges "freeze" wherever they are and will not go up or down until it goes ‘key-off/run’ again. The computer drops communication with the instrument cluster through the start-run cycle. I have spent countless hours over the last six months trying to make this work and I cannot. It is unfortunate because I really wanted my dash to look factory.

I decided with warmer weather and the prospect of driving the Jeep again approaching it was time to give up and go another route. I bought a set of AutoMeter Phantom gauges, and a blue, amber, red and two green led lights from Summit.

Original Jeep cluster minus the pointers and electronics behind.


Disassembled.



Gutted the Jeep cluster, and painted black.


Fabbed up the new gauge mounting panel, painted black.


Test fit into Jeep cluster.


Test fit gauges into panel.


Fitting bezel around gauges.



LEDs mounted.


Gauges mounted in the dash.



Overall, I am happy with the way it turned out. I would be happier if it was the OEM cluster, but sometimes you just have to move on.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 13th, 2010, 14:26
wolfpackjeeper's Avatar
wolfpackjeeper wolfpackjeeper is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 500' and 500KCAS, RAF lakenheath
Posts: 4,575
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

John, what are the prospects of getting a pre 97 cluster to work? It does not help you at all, but this is something I have been thinking about for a while. It would be nice to have the factory gauges work.

It may be even simpler in that I would be trying to get a 1989 cluster to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 13th, 2010, 14:28
4WDlifeform's Avatar
4WDlifeform 4WDlifeform is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Posts: 581
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

WOW!! That looks sick!! Looks like they fit just perfectly haha. Very cool to incorporate the guages into the factory set up, and I really like the lights you put in. 10 for 10 man!! awesome job!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 13th, 2010, 15:01
PapaGeno21 PapaGeno21 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 507
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Thats just sick man!

Last edited by PapaGeno21; March 13th, 2010 at 15:15.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 13th, 2010, 15:17
John D's Avatar
John D John D is offline
NAXJA Member # 788
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rockford, Mi
Posts: 1,383
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfpackjeeper View Post
John, what are the prospects of getting a pre 97 cluster to work? It does not help you at all, but this is something I have been thinking about for a while. It would be nice to have the factory gauges work.

It may be even simpler in that I would be trying to get a 1989 cluster to work.
You should have no problems at all with the pre-'97, except for the tach as long as you run both Jeep and Chevy PCMs and sensors. I have a friend with a '96 and a 5.7L and everything works except the tach. Last I checked there is still no fix for this. The guys at Dakota think they are getting close to finishing developement on a unit to convert the Jeep tach signals. The TJ guys have this same issue and Dakota knows there is a market for it. Check with them before you move on it for the latest. They are good people to deal with. They spent a lot of time with me for free.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 13th, 2010, 15:22
Johnnie Walker's Avatar
Johnnie Walker Johnnie Walker is offline
Piece of Fish!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Califailia
Posts: 10,653
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfpackjeeper View Post
John, what are the prospects of getting a pre 97 cluster to work? It does not help you at all, but this is something I have been thinking about for a while. It would be nice to have the factory gauges work.

It may be even simpler in that I would be trying to get a 1989 cluster to work.
I would think that the pre-96 gauges would work easier. AS they do not have all the complications of OBDII. With to correct sensors I believe they will work.
Do not have a V8 swap YET, so I can say for sure. But do no see why they wouldnt.
__________________
blondjoncherokee: chris was wondering how much it would cost for you to give him 4" ?
RTFM: Not just an acronym, it's the LAW!
nightfoam: Uh, 5.5 million was way too much. You are the worst jew ever
blistovmhz: Goddamn Canada. We're all rapists. Don't come here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 14th, 2010, 10:48
mfds91cherokee's Avatar
mfds91cherokee mfds91cherokee is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 29
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

I wanna do a v-8 swap in my cherokee where can I find the info on what parts and motor are needed for the swap. I always wanted to put a grand cherokee 5.2L in or something. any help would be awesome. I just really want a v-8 I love the power and sound of one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 14th, 2010, 12:10
wolfpackjeeper's Avatar
wolfpackjeeper wolfpackjeeper is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 500' and 500KCAS, RAF lakenheath
Posts: 4,575
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

check out the LSx swap 2 or three lines down. Or you can check the link on Frank's sig.

LSx is going to be easier and cheaper than a 5.2. The 5.2 is just not that great of a motor.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 14th, 2010, 13:03
John D's Avatar
John D John D is offline
NAXJA Member # 788
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rockford, Mi
Posts: 1,383
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfpackjeeper View Post
check out the LSx swap 2 or three lines down. Or you can check the link on Frank's sig.

LSx is going to be easier and cheaper than a 5.2. The 5.2 is just not that great of a motor.
Agreed... the 5.2L would be a waste of time and money.

There are a few threads around here that cover most of what is required.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 14th, 2010, 16:00
VAhasnoWAVES VAhasnoWAVES is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lake City, Mi
Posts: 5,387
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

very very slick.

ive PMed you before but never gotten a response. im very eager to do this to my 99 stroker, but electronics are not my friend. are there any major hurdles in doing a swap like this with the stock OBDII?


again... mad props.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 14th, 2010, 18:23
Johnnie Walker's Avatar
Johnnie Walker Johnnie Walker is offline
Piece of Fish!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Califailia
Posts: 10,653
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

John D.. is your oil pressure gauge elec or mech?
__________________
blondjoncherokee: chris was wondering how much it would cost for you to give him 4" ?
RTFM: Not just an acronym, it's the LAW!
nightfoam: Uh, 5.5 million was way too much. You are the worst jew ever
blistovmhz: Goddamn Canada. We're all rapists. Don't come here.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 14th, 2010, 18:40
John D's Avatar
John D John D is offline
NAXJA Member # 788
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rockford, Mi
Posts: 1,383
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAhasnoWAVES View Post
very very slick.

ive PMed you before but never gotten a response. im very eager to do this to my 99 stroker, but electronics are not my friend. are there any major hurdles in doing a swap like this with the stock OBDII?


again... mad props.
Sorry... thought I replied. I would guess that it would be the same in that the Jeep PCM expects to see Jeep sensors and the Auto Meter gauges expect to see Auto Meter sensors. Just have to plumb them and wire them. The wiring isn't that difficult. You will just need the pinouts for the connector that originally went to the Jeep cluster (turn signal, hi beam, brake). The only snag I see is the check engine light, that might be sent over the buss.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 14th, 2010, 18:41
John D's Avatar
John D John D is offline
NAXJA Member # 788
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rockford, Mi
Posts: 1,383
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnie Walker View Post
John D.. is your oil pressure gauge elec or mech?
Electric - one wire and a sensor, wouldn't do it any other way.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 15th, 2010, 13:50
Talyn's Avatar
Talyn Talyn is offline
NAXJA Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Radford, Communistwealth of Virginia
Posts: 7,320
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAhasnoWAVES View Post
im very eager to do this to my 99 stroker, but electronics are not my friend. are there any major hurdles in doing a swap like this with the stock OBDII?
If you are using the stock PCM why would you need to replace the factory gauges?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 15th, 2010, 18:05
John D's Avatar
John D John D is offline
NAXJA Member # 788
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rockford, Mi
Posts: 1,383
Re: Instrument Cluster - Custom Gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talyn View Post
If you are using the stock PCM why would you need to replace the factory gauges?
Some people don't like the accuracy of the factory gauges, especially if they have spent money building an engine. The Jeep PCM will not run the aftermarket gauges.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: XJ/TJ Instrument Cluster CharlesS SoCal For Sale 2 April 7th, 2008 15:25
FS: XJ/TJ Instrument Cluster CharlesS For Sale: Private Party Only. XJ ITEMS ONLY 1 April 7th, 2008 15:24
Colored gauges in the instrument cluster. Ricers rejoice! lilredwagn Street and Performance 18 July 9th, 2006 01:13
instrument gauges improvement update skipc OEM Tech Discussion 3 July 21st, 2004 22:09
Instrument gauges, no more dummy lights! utahxjer For Sale: Private Party Only. XJ ITEMS ONLY 5 February 19th, 2004 22:46


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
NAXJA and NAXJA logo's Copyright NAXJA. All content/images Copyright NAXJA 1999-2014