• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 only goes forward

XJ.Atticus

NAXJA Forum User
:confused:

just picked-up a jeep (89 wagoneer).

Was told the trans was slipping and after seeing the sludge under the valve cap,i figured the guy i bought it from may not have taken care of it.
So I drained the trans fluid (which wasn't much) and replaced the pan gasket and the main pump seal. No leaks, i thought something had gone right...

The Problem: Now every gear seems to move the jeep forward.
After reading alot of NAXJA forums I disconnected the TCU... Still Same Problem
Also realized that the jeep only started in what should be the P (park) and N (neutral) Positions.

I am by no means a mechanic, nor know much about transmissions. So i am hopping someone can point out a mistake or something obvious i have missed.

I would really like to take this jeep out this season and have removed an installed this trans twice this week. So i am desperate for any help.

AW4 (aisin 30-40le) mated to a NP242
:confused:

Last edited:
kinda awkward.

So, with the new TCM and the shifter in P the jeep doesn't move... But in R,N,D,3,1-2 it still wants to move forward.

I'm still confused...

While i wait for more ideas, I am going to change the fluid again and probe the TCM.

Another update...

P seems to work
R feels like it is neutral
N Jeep moves forward
D Jeep moves forward
3 Jeep moves forward
1-2 Jeep moves forward

Is there any way to adjust linkage?
Could it be a solenoid?

Thanks for any help